Agriculture’s AI Transformation— The Zeroeth Edition of a Three-part Series

Arjun Sharma
2 min readNov 1, 2020

Hello, world! I’m Arjun Sharma, a fourteen-year-old living in India with a fierce passion for technology. Over the past few years, my knowledge and passion for computers has involved several topics. Today, I’m a passionate coder, a keen reader of all things tech, and highly interested in artificial intelligence and machine learning.

My passion for this field reached new heights with the Inspirit AI Scholars Program in June 2019, a program for high school students on machine learning. I was part of a team that built a fake news detection algorithm, with the one-on-one guidance of our team’s instructor, Debajyoti Datta.

That hasn’t been the end of my exploration of artificial intelligence and machine learning, and I’m sure this isn’t the first time you’ve heard of those earlier. It’s been making waves across fields recently, and it’s hard not to stumble across a mention of a revolutionary new technology employed by the most high-profile companies or governments when browsing the internet.

That’s why, in this series of articles, I’ll be going over a less mainstream but arguably equally, if not more important, field in AI. I’ll be taking a deep dive into the application of artificial intelligence and machine learning in agriculture.

First, I’ll be looking at the problems faced in agriculture, both global and region-specific ones. Then, I’ll take a look at some of their solutions, in addition to companies making tangible strides on the ground in this field.

Over the next six weeks, this series of three posts aims to appeal to a broad audience, including those with no prior knowledge or experience in artificial intelligence. Hopefully, you’ll leave each article with a fresh insight into this more rarely-covered topic.

Arjun Sharma is a Student Ambassador in the Inspirit AI Student Ambassadors Program. Inspirit AI is a pre-collegiate enrichment program that exposes curious high school students globally to AI through live online classes. Learn more at https://www.inspiritai.com/.

--

--